Cyclone Gabrielle support and information

This page gives regular updates and where to find information on what support is available after Cyclone Gabrielle

The State of National Emergency that was declared due to Cyclone Gabrielle has ended.

A National Transition Period is in place covering the Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Tairāwhiti and Hawke's Bay regions and the Tararua, Masterton, Carterton and South Waikato districts.

A national transition period enables a seamless transition from the emergency response phase to the recovery stage. It provides local Civil Defence teams with the powers they may need during the early stages of the recovery, such as clearing roads and disposing of dangerous materials. The national transition period also enables remedial works to be carried out, for example to restore access to cut-off properties or make temporary infrastructure repairs.

Published: May 9, 2023, 9:45 AM