Emergency Management Awards

Background on the Emergency Management Awards and the nomination process, plus links to information about previous and current winners.

Award Recipients

Find out about previous and current award recipients. 

CDEM Gold and Silver Awards

CDEM Award for Long Service

Director’s Award for Innovation Recipients

Emergency Management awards are intended for those people, groups or organisations that have made significant contributions to Emergency Management in New Zealand and who deserve recognition at a national level. Both paid and volunteer Emergency Management personnel are eligible for the Emergency Management awards.

The Emergency Management awards were first introduced in 2009 to recognise career and volunteer personnel within Emergency Management in New Zealand. The awards programme also serves to raise awareness of Emergency Management efforts across New Zealand.

The Emergency Management awards are designed to complement existing means of formal recognition, including the New Zealand Royal Honours and Mayoral awards.

Available awards

There are five types of award:

Ministerial Awards for Contribution to Emergency Management in New Zealand

  • For outstanding contributions to Emergency Management in New Zealand.

Award for Innovation

  • For exceptional innovation or creativity that has pushed the boundaries of current Emergency Management practice in New Zealand.

Award for Collaboration

  • For exemplary Emergency Management collaboration outside of normal existing working relationships.

Award for Manaaki

  • For exceptional Manaaki in the Emergency Management environment, showing respect and hospitality to others in a way that upholds their mana and enhances our own.

Awards for Long Service

  • For Emergency Management Long Service for 10 years’, 20 years’, 30 years’, 40 years’ or 50 years’ service to Emergency Management at the local or national level.


A nomination can be submitted by any person who is familiar with the contribution of the individual, group or organisation being submitted. An individual cannot nominate themselves but can prepare a nomination for the group or organisation with which they are affiliated. Nominations should be supported by the chief executive of the nominating authority.

More information about the Emergency Management Awards will be provided in an updated Information Series, which will be uploaded soon. 


Nominations will close on 30 April 2021, so the Awards can be presented at the 2021 National Emergency Management Conference. Nomination forms for each award will be uploaded soon. 

Nominations for Long Service Awards may be submitted at any time during the year. 20 and 30 year nominations submitted by 30 April 2021 will be eligible to be presented at the 2021 National Emergency Management Conference.