Emergency Management Awards

Background on the Emergency Management Awards and the nomination process, plus links to information about previous and current winners.

About the awards

Emergency Management Awards are intended for those people, groups or organisations that have made significant contributions to emergency management in New Zealand and are deserving of recognition at a national level. Both paid and volunteer emergency management personnel are eligible for the Emergency Management Awards.

The awards programme also serves to raise awareness of emergency management efforts across New Zealand.

The Emergency Management Awards are designed to complement existing means of formal recognition, including the New Zealand Royal Honours and Mayoral awards.

Available awards

There are five types of awards available.

Ministerial Awards for Contribution to Emergency Management in New Zealand

For outstanding contributions to emergency management in New Zealand.

Award for Innovation

For exceptional innovation or creativity that has pushed the boundaries of current emergency management practice in New Zealand.

Award for Collaboration

For exemplary emergency management collaboration outside of normal existing working relationships.

Award for Manaakitanga

For exceptional Manaakitanga in the emergency management environment, showing respect and hospitality to others in a way that upholds their mana and enhances our own.

Awards for Long Service

For emergency management long service for 10 years’, 20 years’, 30 years’, 40 years’ or 50 years’ service to emergency management at the local or national level.


Nominations for Long Service Awards may be submitted at any time during the year by emailing nemaawards@nema.govt.nz

A nomination can be submitted by anyone who is familiar with the contribution of the individual, group or organisation being submitted. An individual cannot nominate themselves but can prepare a nomination for the group or organisation with which they are affiliated. Nominations should be supported by the Chief Executive of the nominating authority.

Nominations for the other award categories open closer to the date of the next National Emergency Management Conference (2022). This website will be updated with further information at that time, and those active in emergency management sector will be informed directly when nominations open.

Find more information about the Emergency Management Awards