Accessibility About this Site About the Ministry Locate the nearest council Links Home Search Main Content www.govt.nz
Search:   


National Public Education Reference Group
The National CDEM Public Education Reference Group, comprising representatives from each of the CDEM Groups, plays a key role in developing the long-term strategy for the public education programme. The Group is chaired by the Director of the Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management. Terms of Reference for the NPERG can be viewed below under Related Documents. Members on the group also take responsibility for liaison and communication on public education initiatives within their Groups. Staff in councils who would like to have an input in regional and national public education initiatives are encouraged to contact the public education representative for their CDEM Group (see below). The meeting notes and the action points from previous meetings can be viewed below.


Members of the Group
Chair: John Hamilton (Director, Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management)

CDEM Group representatives
Naomi Luckett, Bay of Plenty (naomi.luckett@boprc.govt.nz)
Richard Steele, Gisborne (Richard@gdc.govt.nz)
Kerry McSaveney, Wellington, (Kerry.McSaveney@gw.govt.nz)
Jessica Petersen, Canterbury (Jessica.petersen@cdemcanterbury.govt.nz)
Peter Taylor,Otago (Peter.Taylor@orc.govt.nz)
Craig Sinclair, Southland (craig.sinclair@es.govt.nz)
Debbie de Gues, Nelson/Tasman (debbie.degeus@ncc.govt.nz)
Matthew Smith, Manawatu/Wanganui (Matthew.Smith@wanganui.govt.nz)
Rusty Richie, Taranaki (rusty.ritchie@trc.govt.nz)
Kim Abbott, Northland (kimab@nrc.govt.nz)
Helen Shea, Hawke's Bay (helens@hbrc.govt.nz)
Wendy Valois, Waikato (Wendy.Valois@ew.govt.nz)
Rana Solomon, Chathams (rana@cic.govt.nz)
Gary Spence, Marlborough (gary.spence@marlborough.govt.nz)
Jamie Richards, Auckland (Jamie.Richards@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz)
Keith Evans, MCDEM (keith.evans@dpmc.govt.nz)
Chandrika Kumaran, MCDEM (chandrika.kumaran@dpmc.govt.nz)



Meeting Notes
1 March 2012 meeting notes
National and CDEM Group programme summaries

Presentations/Resources


Previous years
18 March 2010 Meeting
Summary of 2009/2010 CDEM Group Public education activities
Summary of 2009/2010 national public education activities
27 August 2008 Meeting
13 December 2007 Meeting (doc)
27 June 2007 Meeting (doc)
1 March 2007 Meeting (doc)



Presentations/documents from 27 August 2008 meeting
Summary of 2008 Colmar Brunton annual research (doc)
Full Report on the third 2008 Colmar Brunton annual research (ppt)
Colmar Brunton regional presentation to NPERG 27 August 2008 (ppt)
What the research is telling us (ppt)
Consistent Messaging project Update (ppt)
National Public Education Update (doc)
CDEM Group Public Education activities (doc)
Wellington CDEM Group Case Study - KCDC Radio Ads

Related documents
Public Education - Way Forward Strategy (2006 -2015) and PEP Communications Plans 2007 - 2009 (doc)
Powerpoint presentation of campaign strategy for group use (ppt)
National Public Education Reference Group - Terms of Reference
Full Report on the second 2007 Colmar Brunton annual research (ppt)
Full Report of the interim benchmark research undertaken in November 2006 (ppt)
Summary results from survey of teachers for What’s The Plan Stan (doc)
Summary of first April 06 benchmark research results (doc)
Full Report on the first benchmark research April 2006 (ppt)
Annual benchmark research questionnaire (doc)
Creating a resilient New Zealand Report by Kirsten Finnis (pdf)
CDEM Group activity template for Groups to fill and return (doc)
List of International/National Awareness weeks and events (doc)