Accessibility About this Site About the Ministry Locate the nearest council Links Home Search Main Content

National Exercise Programme

The Ministry of Civil Defence & Emergency Management (MCDEM) is the overall National Exercise Programme sponsor. The programme is owned collectively by the 16 CDEM Groups and managed through a representative governance group.

The programme recognises that exercising needs to occur at all levels of the CDEM structure. A four-tier approach to exercising has been adopted. Each tier is expected to be based on and informed by a consistent regime of planning, observation, evaluation, feedback and continuous improvement.

Tier 1 Local exercise (individual organisation)
Tier 2 Group exercise (with CDEM Group)
Tier 3 Inter-Group exercise (across CDEM Groups, may include MCDEM)
Tier 4 National exercise (New Zealand or part thereof, including central government)

CDEM Exercising in New Zealand
National Exercise Programme: 10-year calendar